TED Talk by Emilie Wapnick:Why some of us don’t have one true calling

I’m not sure that any book, movie or video has ever truly changed my life in the sense of dramatically altering its course, but if I can think of something that has had any impact on it, than it would be this video.

One month of writing empty job applications and motivation letters without motivations was working well in pushing my mood down. The need to describe and identify myself with some specific qualities or interests was just wrong to me. I am not one thing.

Then I came across this Ted Talk, and I felt relieved. I was not the only one jumping from one activity to the other, not sure about my next move because “who knows? maybe I’ll find something different that I want to learn”. I never really thought I was the only one obviously, but hearing that out loud was exactly what I needed then.

In the next CV, I changed the style of presenting myself. Two days later, i got an email for a job interview. Luck? Maybe, also.

 

If you want to know more:
Who is Emilie Wapnick?

And what about you? Do you feel like a multipotentialite too? or do you believe that focusing on a single target is the key to success? I am curious to hear from you!
3 thoughts on “TED Talk by Emilie Wapnick:Why some of us don’t have one true calling

  1. never seen this TED talk before, but so true. people aren’t just doctors or accountants today. people are writers, speakers, entrepreneurs and artists all at the same time. I like the idea of being a multipotentialite and doing a lot of things instead of being defined by just one occupation although both are good:) thanks for sharing this:))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Vincent,
      I am glad this was a small discovery for you! I loved this video from the first minute, and I couldn´t agree more on the multipotentialite thing. Also, I share the idea that not having the “single push” is not a big deal!
      Have a good day and I hope to read you around here again!
      Greta

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

